Wednesday, May 22, 2024
HomeGeneral KnowledgeAlain Aspect, John F. Clauser, and Anton Zeilinger have been awarded the...

Alain Aspect, John F. Clauser, and Anton Zeilinger have been awarded the 2022 Nobel Prize in Physics.

Last updated on December 16th, 2023 at 05:18 pm

Estimated reading time: 1 minute

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences in Stockholm awarded the 2022 Nobel Prize in physics to Alain Aspect, John F Clauser and Anton Zeilinger on Tuesday for “experiments with entangled The photons established the violation of Bell inequalities and pioneered quantum information science.”

The groundbreaking experiments conducted by the Nobel laureates in physics have used entangled quantum states, where two particles behave as a single unit even when separated.

The results have created a new path for technology that is based on quantum information. Many practical applications of science have their foundations in the research of physicists who often tackle problems that, at first glance, appear to be far removed from everyday concerns like tiny particles and the vast mysteries of space and time.

Immense research and development are underway to utilise the special properties of individual particle systems to construct quantum computers, improve measurements, build quantum networks, and establish secure quantum encrypted communication.

Three scientists, Syukuro Manabe, Klaus Hasselmann and Giorgio Parisi, were awarded the prize last year for their work expanding our understanding of climate change by helping to explain and predict complex forces of nature.

Google News

Latest Stories

- Advertisment - NIT Infotech