Wednesday, May 22, 2024
HomeBharat NewsCelebrating Excellence: National Sports Awards 2023 Honor India's Sporting Heroes

Celebrating Excellence: National Sports Awards 2023 Honor India’s Sporting Heroes

Estimated reading time: 3 minutes

The Ministry of Youth Affairs & Sports has officially announced the National Sports Awards 2023, recognizing and rewarding excellence in sports. The prestigious awards ceremony is scheduled to take place at Rashtrapati Bhavan on January 9, 2024, where awardees will be honored by the President of India.

These awards celebrate the remarkable achievements of athletes, coaches, and entities who have demonstrated outstanding contributions to the field of sports. The awards are categorized into several segments, each highlighting a different aspect of sports excellence.

  1. Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award:
    • This award is bestowed upon a sportsperson who has exhibited a spectacular and outstanding performance in the field of sports over the previous four years. It is a recognition of consistent brilliance and excellence.
  2. Arjuna Award:
    • The Arjuna Award is presented to individuals who have displayed commendable performance over the past four years. Beyond skill and prowess, recipients exemplify qualities such as leadership, sportsmanship, and discipline.
  3. Dronacharya Award:
    • Coaches play a pivotal role in the success of athletes. The Dronacharya Award honors coaches who have consistently delivered outstanding and meritorious work, enabling sportspersons to excel in international events.
  4. Dhyan Chand Award:
    • This award is a tribute to sportspersons who have not only contributed significantly to sports through their performances but continue to promote sports events even after retirement.
  5. Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy 2023:
    • Awarded to the overall top-performing university in inter-university tournaments, the MAKA Trophy recognizes institutions that foster a culture of sports excellence and achievement.

Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award 2023

S. No.Name of the SportspersonDiscipline
1.Shri Chirag Chandrashekhar ShettyBadminton
2.Shri Rankireddy Satwik Sai RajBadminton

Arjuna Awards 2023

S. No.Name of the SportspersonDiscipline
1.Shri Ojas Pravin DeotaleArchery
2.Ms Aditi Gopichand SwamiArchery
3.Shri Sreeshankar MAthletics
4.Ms Parul ChaudharyAthletics
5.Ms. PinkiBoxing
6.Ms R VaishaliChess
7.Shri Mohammed ShamiCricket
8.Shri Anush AgarwallaEquestrian
9.Ms Divyakriti SinghEquestrian Dressage
10.Ms Diksha DagarGolf
11.Shri Krishan Bahadur PathakHockey
12.Ms Pukhrambam Sushila ChanuHockey
13.Shri Pawan KumarKabaddi
14.Ms Ritu NegiKabaddi
15.Ms NasreenKho-Kho
16.Ms. Esha SinghLawn Bowls
17.Shri Aishwary Pratap Singh TomarShooting
18.Ms. AntimShooting
19.Shri Harinder Pal Singh SandhuSquash
20.Ms Ayhika MukherjeeTable Tennis
21.Shri Sunil KumarWrestling
22.Ms. Naorem Roshibina DeviWrestling
23.Ms Naorem Roshibina DeviWushu
24.Ms Sheetal DeviPara Archery
25.Shri Illuri Ajay Kumar ReddyBlind Cricket
26.Ms Prachi YadavPara Canoeing

Dronacharya Award 2023

Regular Category:

S. No.Name of the CoachDiscipline
1.Shri Lalit KumarWrestling
2.Shri R. B. RameshChess
3.Shri Mahaveer Prasad SainiPara Athletics
4.Shri Shivendra SinghHockey
5.Shri Ganesh Prabhakar DevrukhkarMallakhamb

Lifetime Category:

S. No.Name of the CoachDiscipline
1.Shri Jaskirat Singh GrewalGolf
2.Shri Bhaskaran EKabaddi
3.Shri Jayanta Kumar PushilalTable Tennis

Dhyan Chand Award 2023

S. No.Name of the SportspersonDiscipline
1.Ms Manjusha KanwarBadminton
2.Shri Vineet Kumar SharmaHockey
3.Ms Kavitha SelvarajKabaddi

Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy 2023

1.Guru Nanak Dev University, Amritsar
2.Lovely Professional University, Punjab
3.Kurukshetra University, Kurukshetra

The National Sports Awards, scheduled for January 9, 2024, will honor excellence in sports, recognizing achievements, leadership, and contributions to sports development. The awardees will receive their honors from the President of India in a specially organized function at Rashtrapati Bhavan. The awards encompass various categories, celebrating the prowess and dedication of individuals and entities in the realm of sports.

Google News

Latest Stories

- Advertisment - NIT Infotech