Thursday, May 30, 2024
HomeBharat NewsMadhya PradeshMP Vidhansabha: Narendra Singh Tomar elected 19th Speaker of 16th Assembly and...

MP Vidhansabha: Narendra Singh Tomar elected 19th Speaker of 16th Assembly and assumes charge

Estimated reading time: 4 minutes

In a significant development, former Union Minister Narendra Singh Tomar has been elected as the Speaker of the 16th Assembly. The seasoned politician achieved this milestone unopposed during the recent elections, becoming the 19th Speaker of the Legislative Assembly. What adds a historic dimension to Tomar’s ascendancy is that he is the first Assembly Speaker to hail from the Gwalior Chambal region.

Chief Minister Dr. Mohan Yadav proposed Narendra Singh Tomar’s name during the elections, a proposal that received support from Leader of Opposition Umang Singhar, former Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chauhan, Prahlad Patel, Kailash Vijayvargiya, and Congress MLA Ramniwas Rawat. The unanimous support underscores Tomar’s widespread acceptance and respect across party lines.

Political Journey of Narendra Singh Tomar: From Grassroots to Assembly Speaker

Narendra Singh Tomar’s political journey traces back to 1977 when he assumed the role of Mandal President of Yuva Morcha. Over the years, he progressed through the ranks, eventually serving as the State President of Yuva Morcha in 1996. His electoral journey commenced in 1998 when he was first elected as a Member of the Legislative Assembly (MLA).

During his tenure from 2003 to 2008, Tomar held ministerial portfolios in several crucial departments. In 2008, he assumed the responsibility of the State President of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in Madhya Pradesh. Tomar transitioned to national politics, representing the Gwalior constituency in the Lok Sabha in 2009. His political acumen and leadership were evident as he was once again appointed as the State President of BJP in 2012.

In 2014, Narendra Singh Tomar secured a seat in the Lok Sabha and went on to become a Union Minister. His political prowess continued, with re-election as a Lok Sabha member in 2019, coupled with another stint as a Union Minister. In 2023, the BJP entrusted him with the MLA ticket, and his subsequent victory paved the way for his current role as the Speaker of the Legislative Assembly.

Warm Congratulations and Wishes

Upon his election, a wave of congratulatory messages flooded the Assembly, with former Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chauhan describing Tomar as not just an individual but an entire institution. The sentiment echoed that Tomar’s patience and statesmanship align him with the legacy of Atal Bihari Vajpayee.

Former Assembly Speaker Garish Gautam extended his congratulations, emphasizing the dignity associated with the Speaker’s post. Meanwhile, Gopal Bhargava reflected on Tomar’s political journey, expressing pride in witnessing his evolution from a youth leader to the Speaker’s chair.

Inaugural Address and Aspirations

In his inaugural address, Assembly Speaker Narendra Singh Tomar expressed his commitment to uphold the principles of democracy. He pledged to keenly observe and safeguard the rights of every member, ensuring that each receives their due. Tomar extended advice to both new and seasoned members, emphasizing the importance of continual learning and maintaining a student’s attitude.

Grateful for the support and acknowledging the standards set by his predecessors, Tomar expressed his dedication to preserving and enhancing the prestige of the Assembly. He assured members that he would earnestly fulfill his responsibilities, guided by their expectations.

Faces of the House Respond

During the proceedings, various members shared their sentiments. Prahlad Patel, in a lighter vein, remarked that he could no longer make certain comments on Tomar, given his elevated position. Congress MLA Ramniwas Rawat commended Tomar’s patience and experience, expressing hope that he would protect the interests of all members.

Kailash Vijayvargiya, reflecting on Tomar’s political journey, highlighted the hard work and dedication required to attain the Speaker’s position. He advised the Congress party to balance protest with constructive contributions to the functioning of the House.

A Speaker for All

The elevation of Narendra Singh Tomar to the position of Speaker of the 16th Assembly marks a significant chapter in Madhya Pradesh’s political history. As he takes on the responsibility of presiding over legislative proceedings, Tomar’s journey from grassroots politics to the Speaker’s chair stands as a testament to his enduring commitment to public service and democratic values.

Google News

Latest Stories

- Advertisment - NIT Infotech