Monday, July 22, 2024
HomeSportsCricketHaryana Clinches Historic Victory, Secures Vijay Hazare Trophy 2023 with a 30-Run...

Haryana Clinches Historic Victory, Secures Vijay Hazare Trophy 2023 with a 30-Run Win Over Rajasthan

In a momentous showdown at the Saurashtra Cricket Association (SCA) Stadium in Rajkot on Saturday, Haryana emerged triumphant in the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2023 final, defeating Rajasthan by 30 runs. This victory marks Haryana’s inaugural triumph in the history of the prestigious tournament.

Opting to bat first, Haryana posted a competitive total of 287 for the loss of eight wickets. Despite an early setback with the departure of Yuvraj Singh, opener Ankit Kumar showcased resilience, scoring 88 runs off 91 balls, including 12 fours and one six. Skipper Ashok Menaria played a crucial role in the middle order, contributing 70 runs off 96 balls in a pivotal 124-run partnership with Kumar.

Rohit Pramod Sharma and Nishant Sindhu provided valuable contributions with knocks of 20 and 29, respectively. The combined efforts of Rahul Tewatia and Sumit Kumar propelled Haryana toward the 300-run mark. Aniket Choudhary stood out as Rajasthan’s top bowler, finishing with figures of 4 for 49 in his 10 overs. Arafat Khan claimed two wickets but at an expensive economy rate of 8.40.

This historic win not only secured the Vijay Hazare Trophy for Haryana but also marked a significant milestone in the team’s journey, capturing the title for the first time in the tournament’s history. Meanwhile, Rajasthan ended as runners-up for the second time, the previous instance being in the 2006-07 edition of the championship.

Google News

Latest Stories

- Advertisment - NIT Infotech