Sunday, April 14, 2024
HomeBharat NewsLok Sabha Elections: Congress Releases Candidates 17th List

Lok Sabha Elections: Congress Releases Candidates 17th List

Estimated reading time: 2 minutes

Lok Sabha Elections: The Congress party has announced its lineup of candidates for the Lok Sabha elections, revealing a list of 17 contenders. Notably, state unit chief Y.S. Sharmila Reddy has been nominated to contest from the Kadapa constituency in Andhra Pradesh.

The latest roster includes eight candidates from Odisha, five from Andhra Pradesh, three from Bihar, and one from West Bengal, showcasing the party’s regional focus and electoral strategy.

In Bihar, Congress has announced candidates for the seats allocated under the grand alliance agreement, with Mohammed Jawed contesting from Kishanganj, Tariq Anwar from Katihar, and Ajeet Sharma from Bhagalpur.

Lok Sabha Elections: Congress Releases Candidates 17th List 45

Former education minister M. M. Pallam Raju has been chosen to represent Kakinada in Andhra Pradesh, while former Lok Sabha member Sanjay Bhoi will contest from Bargarh in Odisha.

The party’s sole candidate announced in West Bengal is Dr. Munish Tamang, fielded from Darjeeling. However, the suspense continues over high-profile seats like Amethi and Raebareli.

In its tenth list of candidates released on Monday, the Congress party declared contenders for Maharashtra’s Akola seat and Telangana’s Warangal seat. This announcement also marked the end of speculations regarding a possible alliance with Prakash Ambedkar’s Vanchit Bahujan Aghadi (VBA) in Maharashtra, with Congress’s Abhay Kashinath Patil set to contest against Ambedkar.

With the Lok Sabha elections scheduled to be held in seven phases starting from April 19, the Congress party’s candidate list underscores its preparations and readiness for the electoral battle ahead.

Google News

Latest Stories

- Advertisment - NIT Infotech